original publication date: 06.14.2024
Edited for clarity.

Introduction, Goals, and Game Plan

I decided to use cohost as place to record and share my progress in software development and non-fiction writing. Expect long posts and a lot of rambling. I'll be working with the garage door up, also known as learning in public and because I want to be as transparent as possible, I will also share the tools and processes behind the outputs.

So, what's the game plan? I am applying the method described in Plans vs Goals vs Resolutions vs Intentions from Ryder Caroll's bulletjournal.com.

Intention - The Why

> commitment to a process

I want to improve my writing skills. Writing is an effective tool to sharpen my thinking, and the record it leaves behind is useful for future projects. Perhaps most importantly, I want to write to create meaningful work. I hope that what I create reaches other people who will find it impactful or useful.

Goal - The What

> definition of an outcome

At the moment, I have two projects:

  1. Web development
  2. Non-fiction Writing

Plan - The How

> definition of a process

The the meat of the pie. My website is currently being deployed through Github as an index.html file. Now I have a non-Chrome device, I want to tinker with Netlify for deployment and Gatsby or Jekyll for front-end development. My education with web development started is rather basic, so I will be sharing everything that I have learned and knowledge required to produce your own. In the same link as above, there will be blank copy of the file I will build the new website off which is the same as the mind gardens.

These mind gardens are small, concentrated writing projects around a topic. One is already available for your scrolling pleasure.

At last but not least, random pieces of writing will come out in either this account or in the website. They may be short. They may be long. They may not make a lot of sense. The website takes priority.

To summarize, the purpose of this account is to record and share the development of different pieces of writing including but not limited to front-end web development and non-fiction writing.

I want to join the /now page movement and add something like that to either this account or the website.


last updated: 10/15/2024